Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History

Website Search Box

Department of Botany

José Cuatrecasas Medal for Excellence in Tropical Botany

Dr. José Cuatrecasas was a pioneering botanist and taxonomist who spent nearly a half century working in the Department of Botany at the Smithsonian Institution. His research, especially in the flowering plant family Asteraceae, was devoted to the classification, biogeography, exploration, and ecology of plants of the paramo and subparamo regions of Andean South America. Out of enduring respect and admiration for Don José, The National Museum of Natural History has established the José Cuatrecasas Medal for Excellence in Tropical Botany. This medal is presented annually to a botanist and scholar of international stature who has contributed significantly to advancing the field of tropical botany. The award will serve to keep vibrant the accomplishments and memory of this outstanding scientist.


Image of Cuatrecasas medal.
2016 -
Kamaljit [Kamal] S. Bawa
2015 -
Paulo Gunter Windisch
2014 -
H. Peter Linder
2013 -
Ana Maria Giulietti Harley
2012 -
Walter S. Judd
2010 -
Beryl Simpson
2009 -
Norris H. Williams
2008 -
Mireya Correa
2006 -
Sherwin Carlquist
2005 -
Jerzy Rzedowski and
Graciela Calderón de Rzedowski
2004 -
David Mabberley
2003 -
John Beaman
2002 -
P. Barry Tomlinson
2001 -
Rogers McVaugh

[ TOP ]